Vegan HSP

In honour of St Paddy’s day (potatoes) and Pauline Hanson, I bring you the Vegan Halal Snack Pack!

I was craving one so bad but didn’t want to go to the store alone so I made my own version and it’s my new favourite food.

I’m sorry for the quality of the images, the phone repair man broke my phone and I lost my DSLR cable so I’m stuck using my old Samsung. Weh.

Serves 1

Recipe:

  • 3 baby potatoes, cubed
  • 2 tbs canola oil
  • a pinch of salt
  • 30g of mozzarella, I used one similar to this (Miyoko’s Creamery Buffalo Style Mozz for Melting) but prefer this one (Damona Boccinicini)
  • 1/4 cup of TVP re-hydrated in 1 massels “chicken” stock cube and water
  • A drizzle of Sriracha
  • A couple of tablespoons of special sauce
    • 2 tsp cashew paste
    • 1 tsp tahini
    • 3 tbs of creamy mayonnaise (Follow your Heart is my fave)
    • 1 large clove of garlic, minced
    • Juice of half a lemon
    • a pinch of salt
    • Enough soy milk to thin it out to a saucy consistency

Method Sauce:

  • Mix cashew paste and tahini together, add mayo and garlic and stir, add in lemon juice, salt to taste and then thin out into desired consistency using soy milk

Method HSP:

  1. Fry potatoes in canola oil over a medium heat until the potatoes are tender on the inside and crisp and golden on the outside, toss through salt.
  2. Lay potatoes on an oven tray lined with grease proof paper, top with Mozz and TVP and put under the grill/broiler until the TVP is hot and the Mozz is melted
  3. Top with Sriracha and special sauce

That’s that! May you share in this deliciousness. I have a lot of posts to catch up on so hopefully you’ll be hearing from me soon!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.